Sabah Agreement 1963


Posted on

The 20 points were written with the aim of protecting the interests, rights and autonomy of the people of northern Borneo after the formation of the Malaysian Federation. A similar proposal, with some substantive differences, was made by Sarawak and is commonly referred to as the 18-point agreement. On September 11, 1963, just four days before the creation of the new Malaysian Federation, the Kelantan State Government requested a declaration that the Malaysian agreement and the Malaysia Act were null and void or that they did not engage the State of Kelantan, even if they were valid. [after whom?] [Citation required] Kelantan`s government argued that both the Malaysian agreement and the Malaysian Act were not binding on Kelantan, given that The Malaysian law had in fact abolished the Malaya Federation and that this was at odds with the Malaya Federation of 1957, and that the proposed amendments required the agreement of each of the constituent states of the Malaya Federation. , including the Kelantan, and that this had not been done. [Citation required] We still don`t know what`s in the agreement? We`ve broken it down for you. Sabah and Sarawak were not affected, however. Indeed, this accession took place later, when another agreement was signed, which led to the merger between Sabah, Sarawak and, in short, Singapore and the Malaya Federation, with the current malaysian federation. This agreement is the 1963 agreement on Malaysia (MA63) which set out the conditions under which the three states agreed to merge the Malaya federation in Malaysia: under the Malaysian agreement signed between Great Britain and the Federation of Malaya, Britain would adopt a legal act to relinquish sovereign control of Singapore, Sarawak and North Bornéo (now Sa. This objective was achieved by the passage of the Malaysia Act of 1963, Article 1 (1) stipulates that, on the day of Malaysia, “Her Majesty`s sovereignty and jurisdiction over the new States must be abandoned in order to exist in the agreed manner.” [10] On 27 August 1976, the term “governor” was removed in accordance with Article 160 of the Malaysian Constitution and replaced by “Yang di-Pertua Negeri”. [18] This is the end of Sabah`s “Yang di-Pertua Negara” title. The Malay translation of the term “state” of Sabah and Sarawak has been “Negro” (Federated States) since 1963 instead of “Negara” (nation). [19] In the Malaysian Agreement, the meaning of the term “governor” included the title of head of state of Sabah, which was “Yang di-Pertua Negara”.

[16] This term was introduced into the Malaysian Constitution from 1963 to 1976. However, the head of state of Sarawak was called in 1963 “Yang di-Pertua Negeri”. [17] This measure is likely due to Sarawak`s request to postpone implementation until July to a later date, which was rejected. But what is interesting is that datuk Abdul Karim Rahman Hamzah, Sarawak`s Minister of Tourism, said that tourism was an issue that needed to be debated as part of the 1963 agreement on Malaysia: what Parliament can do is pass a new law to give legal effect to an international treaty. For example, Parliament passed the Malaysia Act in 1963 to give MA63 the force of law. Parts of the Federal Constitution have also been amended to include the terms of the agreement between Sabah, Sawak and Malaya when Malaysia was created.